Varsity Wrestling · Wrestling: Lakeshore Advances 7 to Vicksburg Regional

  Place Points
Niles High School 1st 12
Lakeshore High School 2nd 7
Edwardsburg High School 3rd 6
Coldwater High School 3rd 6
Mattawan High School 3rd 6
Harper Creek High School 4th 5
St. Joseph High School 5th 4
Gull Lake High School 6th 3
Marshall High School 6th 3
Plainwell High School 7th 2
Pennfield High School 8th 1
Sturgis High School 9th 0
Battle Creek Central High School 9th 0
Benton Harbor High School 9th 0
Vicksburg High School 9th 0

Lakeshore hosted the MHSAA Individual District Tournament today which featured tough competition from around Southwest Michigan. The Lancers crowned four district champions, one runner-up finish, and two third placers to send seven wrestlers on to the next round at Vicksburg High School. The placers include three freshman, three juniors, and one senior.

Team district champions Niles advanced the most placers with 12. Edwardsburg and Mattawan advanced six, and Harper Creek moved five on.

*Post “points” are number of wrestlers that advanced to the regional round from that school.

Lakeshore Results
Kyle Stampfly, 119–by forfeit over Payton McDurmon (Gull Lake)

Micah Hanau, 125–by decision over Noah Booton (Marshall), 10-3

Shane Williams, 130–by major decision over Bryce Brust (Niles), 15-6

Zeke Rohl, 215–by major decision over Kenny Krempetz (Niles), 17-4

2nd Place
Cameron Litaker, 103–lost in sudden victory to Jamison Zimmerman (Niles), 4-2

3rd Place
Jonathan Gelesko, 119–by pin over Patricio Ortiz (Gull Lake), 2:20

Erik Taylor, 152–by pin over Trevor Brooks (Harper Creek), 3:51

Complete results and brackets are available for all participating teams at under MHSAA District 13-2.